Keith Horgen. Submitted Photo.

Voters headed to the polls to cast their ballots in a handful of local elections Tuesday, opting to elect some new faces and some familiar faces to local offices.

In the mayoral race, Keith Horgen received 67 percent of the vote, topping the incumbent Norm Johnson who came in at 32 percent.

The St. Ansgar city council race added Sam Heimer, Myrna Jorgensen and Chris Maiers to the three open council seats. No one else was running, but 10 percent of the a ballots cast were for write-ins for this race. For the St. Ansgar School board, Will Morrow, Steven Groth and Kyle Tabbert were all re-elected to their positions. Each of the three ran unopposed.

In other races in the county, Steve Cooper was re-elected Mayor of Osage in an uncontested race. Darla Olson got 81 percent of the vote for an at large position on the city council, beating our Chrystal Berche.

Riceville’s mayor will be Dennis Leard based on 48 write-in votes, and Keith Oulman and Jordan Oulman were elected to at-large city council seats.

Carpenter was also a write-in race, with Eric Wilson winning the mayor’s race and Tim Johnson, Tom DeBower, Ty Peterson, Jerry Bublitz and Arich Finch voted to council positions.

The leading vote-getters for Stacyville city council’s three open seats were Mike Hobkirk, Roger Hemann and Jacob Gerbig.

Voter turnout for Mitchell County as a whole was 15 percent, and 39 percent in St. Ansgar. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here